About us

Advisory Board


The AGYA is supervised by an Advisory Board consisting of German and Arabrepresentatives of internationally renowned academic institutions. The Advisory Board is responsible for the final selection of the AGYA members.

German Representatives


Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Martin Grötschel (Co-Chair)

President of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities (BBAW)

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Jörg Hacker

President of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina

Prof. Dr. Klaus-Dieter Lehmann

President of the German Goethe Institute

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Hermann Parzinger

President of the Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation

Prof. Dr. Margret Wintermantel

President of the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)


Arab Representatives


Prof. Dr. Aisha Al-Obaidly (Co-Chair)

Deputy Executive Director of Education, Training and Development of Qatar Foundation

Prof. Dr. Adnan Shihab-Eldin

Director General of the Kuwait Foundation for the Advancement of Sciences,

Former General Director of the Kuwait Institute for Scientific Research

Ziad Mikati

Head of the Beirut Office of the Mikati Foundation

Prof. Dr. Mahmoud M. Sakr

President of the Academy of Scientific Research & Technology, Egypt

Prof. Dr. Abdelhadi Soudi

Ambassador Scientist of the Alexander von Humboldt-Foundation Morocco


Sponsored by