About us

Steering Committee

The AGYA is independent in respect to the content and forms of its academic activities. The activities of the AGYA are carried out by its members and coordinated by the Steering Committee consisting of three Arab and three German members. They invest a significant amount of effort and time to establish a network of cooperation partners by meeting politicians and leaders of academic institutions in the 22 Arab member states and Germany. The AGYA has two Co-Presidents. Prof. Dr. Ahmad El-Guindy holds the office of the Arab Co-President and Dr. Jan Friesen acts as German Co-President. Together with the other members of the Steering Committee, they represent the AGYA regularly at international conferences and actively engage in exchange with leading academic institutions in Germany and the Arab world.

Members of the Steering Committee

Ahmad El-Guindy

Texas A&M University at Qatar Department of Mathematics

visit profile>

Zeina Hobaika

Saint Joseph University of Beirut, Faculty of Life & Earth Sciences

visit profile>

Henda Mahmoudi

International Center for Biosaline Agriculture (ICBA)

visit profile>

Jan Friesen

Environmental Studies
Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research - UFZ, Department Catchment Hydrology

visit profile>

Christian Fron

Ancient History
University of Heidelberg, Department of Ancient History and Epigraphy

visit profile>

Oliver Korn

Computer Sciences
Offenburg University of Applied Sciences Faculty Media and Information

visit profile>

Sponsored by